Astrological Interpretation of The Zodiac

by Vinay Bajrangi World Renowned Astrologer

The Zodiac is an imaginary belt stretching about 90 north and 90 south of the eclipse within which the planets and the Moon remain in the course of their movement. In the case of the Moon, the deviation from the ecliptic is about + 50. This belt is divided into 12 equal parts each of 300, and each Part is called a sign. According to the western system of Astrology, the first sign, i.e., Aries starts from the point of intersection of the ecliptic and the equator. There are 12 Signs., in both the systems, the first being Aries, followed by Taurus. The twelfth sign of the Zodiac is Pisces.

Signs or Rashis

There are twelve sings in the Zodiac, namely, Aries, Taurus,

Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn,

Aquarius and Pisces, each of these signs, have a stretch of 300 in the Zodiac.


The planets which, according to astrology, have the most powerful influence on the Earth are nine in number, namely, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. The last two are called the shadowy planets as they do not have physical or celestial bodies like the other planets. Of the two places where the Moon crosses the ecliptic (that is, the path of the Sun), the north point is known as Rahu, and Ketu corresponding south point which is precisely 180 degrees away from the former is called Ketu. Even though they are not celestial bodies like other planets, they are very sensitive and effective 

Points and it is on ancient savants of astrology having termed them as planets.

In western astrology, though some importance is now being given to Rahu and Ketu, these planets find of little significance in their predictive system. On the other hand, the western planets Uranus (also called Herschel), Neptune and Pluto. Each planet exercises its influence on the Earth according to its strength, position, and dignity, etc., in the Zodiac at the time of birth of an individual, or even in the day -to- day affairs.

Movements and Motions of Planets:

All the planets (Rahu AND Ketu excepted) perform the double function of not only revolving on their axes (from West to the Zodiac and the solar system,

East), but also round the Sun. Saturn is the most distance from the Earth. Jupiter, Mars, the Sun, Venus, Mercury and the Moon come next in order of their distance from the terrestrial globe. The velocity of each planet diminishes as its distance from the Earth increases.

Although in Western astrology, not much significance is attached to the two shadowy planets, Rahu and Ketu in the Indian system these planets which are called karmic planets are given great importance.

While Rahu is associated with power and affluence, Ketu is considered more spiritual, helping the Hindus to develop their nobler and religious interests and to facilitate attainment of moksha or Salvation. The extra Saturnine planets, Uranus, 

Neptune and Pluto do not find much prominence in the Indian system though, of late, more and more Indian Astrologers are blending the Eastern and Western methods to derive the full benefits from the researches made by the Western Scholars.

The planets exercise their influence on the life on this planet,

According to their placement, strength, and dignity in the Zodiac at the time of birth.

The Sun is the center of the Solar system and radiates solar energy towards the Earth from its distance of 92 millions of miles. In spite of its great distance from Earth, solar energy regulates life on this planet. Similarly, other planets like Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury, and the Moon who have different orbits and are part of the Solar system also exercise influence on life on this globe. The newly discovered planets, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, are extra Saturnian planets, as their orbits are far away from that of Saturn. Mercury and the Moon are closer to the Earth and are fast moving. These are termed as inferior planets, as their orbit lies within the Earth's orbit around the Sun. On the other hand, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, etc. are termed as superior planets.

The planets do not have uniform motions. At certain times they are faster in their speed, while at other times they slow down or become stationary for a few days. Their irregular movement is of interest to us.

On certain days the actual motions are slightly less or more. This is because of the planets. While revolving around the Sun, owing to cosmic influences, become somewhat irregular in their movements. A planet's revolution is the time taken by a planet to complete its orbit across the Zodiac.

Sponsor Ads

About Vinay Bajrangi Freshman   World Renowned Astrologer

3 connections, 0 recommendations, 29 honor points.
Joined APSense since, June 21st, 2016, From Noida, India.

Created on Aug 28th 2018 03:11. Viewed 385 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.