Who are the Best Lawyers for your Car Accident in Alaska?by Kristen White Blogger Facts Regarding Accidents In Alaska
Although it was a 6% decrease from the prior year, the 79 fatalities in 75 fatal crashes in Alaska in 2017 was too high. There were also 4% less fatal crashes. In addition, the amount of collisions in Alaska—between 250-300 serious crashes and approximately 3,000 minor collisions each year—is also excessive, especially when considering the low per capita population of the State.
You may be one of the people injured due to the negligence of another person. If so, what are you supposed to do to make sure your rights are protected? The first step is to retain Top Vehicle Injury Lawyers.
Relevant Alaska DMV Rules
One who is a party to any automobile accident in Alaska is required by the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles to (a) assess the damage to your vehicle and the other vehicles involved, (b) exchange information with the other driver(s) including, the other driver's name, phone number, address, license plate number, driver's license number, and insurance company name, (c) submit a Certificate of Insurance within 15 days, (d) contact the local police department (or Alaska State Troopers, if appropriate) and (e) mail in an Alaska Motor Vehicle Crash Form to the Alaska DMV. The Best Accident Lawyers are able to guide you through this multifaceted process.
Other Important Things To Know
In Alaska, you have only two (2) years from the date of the accident—or at least the date you discovered that you were injured—to file your lawsuit. If you do not heed this date, it is likely that your case will be dismissed for violating what is known as Alaska’s “statute of limitations.”
Alaska follows a “comparative negligence” process. This means that your award at trial may be reduced by any percentage a judge or jury believes you are responsible for. For example, if you were hit by a drunk driver who was clearly negligent, but it was shown that you also rolled through a stop sign, there may be 25% negligence attributed to you. If your injuries were valued at $100,000.00, your award would be reduced by 25%--or $25,000.00—reducing your recovery to only $75,000.00. Top Vehicle Injury Lawyers are able to strategize your case in a way to limit the impact of any negligence attributed to you.
Finally, settlement is always the best was to resolve a case. The Best Accident Lawyers understand when it is best to settle and best to reject any settlement offers. And that decision will be based on your interest and not their own.
As you can see, there is a lot to know when you have a personal injury case to prosecute. And what is written above is only a small part of it. There is the discovery process, rules of trial, motion practice, speaking with insurance companies, court practice and procedure, and much more. It is therefore advisable—if not necessary—to retain a competent law firm to afford you the best chance at a meaningful recovery.
Created on Sep 17th 2019 07:10. Viewed 42 times.
No comment, be the first to comment.