The Journey of Team India in the ICC T20 World Cup (2007 - 2016)

by Hreet N. Business

The journey of Team India in the ICC T20 World Cup seems nothing less of an adventure. India has played the T20 World Cup format 6 times till now, and MS Dhoni has been the captain for every match played as of now. You must wonder how many times India won the t20 world cup, the answer is India has won one T20 world cup, even though, the team has reached to final twice. India has played 33 matches, and won 20, lost 11 matches in this format.


India's Experience in T20 World Cups


T20 World Cup 2007: MS Dhoni not only demonstrated his ability as a great leader, but he also has made a mark by winning the inaugural T20 World Cup. India lost to New Zealand in the Super 8 League games, but then bested England and South Africa to advance to the World Cup semi-finals. India finally defeated a strong Australia in the semi-finals before defeating Pakistan in the finals to win the T20 World Cup 2007.


T20 World Cup 2009: The World Cup's second version was played in England. The preceding version's champion, India, was eliminated from the playoffs after losing three consecutive games to the West Indies, England, and South Africa. The only victory for Team India in the competition came against Ireland.


T20 World Cup 2010: The West Indies organized the third version of the T20 World Cup. India got off to a strong start in the competition, defeating Afghanistan and South Africa in their first second game. Conversely, after having lost to Australia, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka, India was knocked out once more.


T20 World Cup 2012: India came up short in the 4th version of the T20 World Cup, which was held in Sri Lanka. India only lost one game and defeated Afghanistan, England, and South Africa. But even so, due to a low net run rate, India was unable to advance to the next round.


T20 World Cup 2014: India appeared to be the best squad to reach the finals in this version, cruising into the WC Final without missing a single game. Even so, everything was flipped upside down when Sri Lanka overthrew India to win the trophy. Virat Kohli was designated the game's Player of the Year.


T20 World Cup 2016: India hosted the sixth edition of the T20 World Cup. India struggled a devastating demise at the hands of New Zealand in the first game, but even then won every game to advance to the semi-finals. It was a match against the might of the West Indies. Despite the finest attempts of ultimate tournament winner Virat Kohli, India lost the game. It was also MS Dhoni's final appearance in a T20 World Cup.

Sponsor Ads

About Hreet N. Innovator   Business

9 connections, 0 recommendations, 51 honor points.
Joined APSense since, October 25th, 2021, From New Delhi, India.

Created on Nov 10th 2021 23:55. Viewed 217 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.