All About The ICC T20 World Tournament Winners

by Hreet N. Business
Every 2 years, the ICC T20 World Cup is held. Nevertheless, owing to various ICC planning revisions and the COVID-19 epidemic, no T20 World Cup events have been held in the previous five years. In the years 2021 and 2022, viewers will be treated to two T20 World Cups.

Last year, the West Indies won the ICC T20 World Cup. The inaugural championship was played in 2007, and the following one is set to take place in 2021, with Oman as well as the United Arab Emirates hosting.

India Achieved The 2007 T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup was won for the first time by the Indian cricket team. India won the event by defeating Pakistan in the final, captained by MS Dhoni. They only lost a single match in the competition, in the Super 8s, to New Zealand.

The 2009 T20 World Cup was lifted by Pakistan

Pakistan won the T20 World Cup 2 years later, after placing second in the inaugural edition. This event was held in England, and Pakistan won it after defeating Sri Lanka in the final. Pakistan ended up losing their opening two matches, one to England and the other to Sri Lanka in the Super 8. Despite this, they were able to take home the trophy.

The 2010 T20 World Cup was lifted by England

In 2010, England won the T20 World Cup for the first time, becoming the first non-Asian side to do so. In the finals, England defeated Ashes foe Australia. The England team had ended up losing their first game against the West Indies, but they went on to win the rest of the games and take home the trophy.

The 2012 T20 World Cup was achieved by WI.

Despite losing their opening game of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012 versus Australia, West Indies won the tournament. In the summit match, the Caribbean squad beat Sri Lanka.

In the 2012 T20 World Cup finals, West Indies were fourteen runs and two wickets following the Powerplay and thirty-two runs and two wickets in ten overs.

The 2014 T20 World Cup was lifted by Sri Lanka

In 2014, Sri Lanka overcame India to win the T20 World Cup for the first time. The islands only lost a single game in the group stage, versus England, but they went unbeaten in the others.

The 2016 T20 World Cup was lifted by West Indies

West Indies made history by being the first side to achieve the T20 World Cup on two occasions. In the 2016 T20 World Cup in India, the Caribbean team was crowned winners. In the finals, they defeated England. Only a single game was lost by the West Indies versus Afghanistan. All of their opponents were beaten.

Few Questions related to T20 Worldcup:

How many times India won T20 World Cup?

India has successfully won the T20 World Cup once, in 2007, in the championship's inaugural season. They nearly won the cup once more in 2014 but were defeated in the finals by Sri Lanka, finishing second.

Who was the first team to win the T20 World Cup?

The Indian team was the 1st nation to defeat Pakistan in the T20 World Cup.

When was Pakistan's T20 World Cup victory?

Pakistan has only managed to win the T20 World Cup once, defeating Sri Lanka in 2009.

Who has the maximum World Cup championships in T20?

The only side to win the ICC T20 World Cup two times is the West Indies. Australia has ended up winning the ICC T20 World Cup only once while winning the 50-over Cricket World Cup 5 times. They were close to capturing the trophy in 2010 but were defeated by Ashes rivals England in the final.

Sponsor Ads

About Hreet N. Innovator   Business

9 connections, 0 recommendations, 51 honor points.
Joined APSense since, October 25th, 2021, From New Delhi, India.

Created on Dec 28th 2021 06:00. Viewed 207 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.