A Guide to the Six Sigma series. Everything you need to know about Six Sigma

by ProICT Training proicttraining
The goal of Six Sigma is to produce a 100% defect free product. Six Sigma makes this possible by modifying an organizations processes, tools and techniques to make them more efficient and improve quality. The Six Sigma methodology is for businesses but its principles are later applied to other aspects of customer care, management, and service delivery.
Six Sigma has successfully applied to many industries like automotive, aerospace, healthcare, Electric Goods, Textiles, Telecom, Banking and Financial Services. To achieve benefits of Six Sigma, the company would have to apply Six Sigma methodology to its processes through a team of certified professional belt holders working at different levels. In the team, each belt holder has the part to perform.
There are 4 types of Six Sigma belt; Black, Yellow, Green and Master Black belt.
The yellow belt is the lowest level of the Six Sigma Series. Yellow belt holders understand the concepts of Six Sigma and are trained to implement, perform, interpret and apply Lean Six Sigma principles to their work. They work to support the rest of the team. A Six Sigma Yellow Belt understands the elementary aspects of the Six Sigma Methodology which of Define, Measure, and Control (DMC)
Lean Six Sigma Green Belt
The Lean Six Sigma Green Belt is the second level in the Six Sigma series. It gives an overview of the phase of Six Sigma Methodology so only processes that add value to the product or service are identified and taken. Lean Six Sigma Belts become team members on process improvement teams that are led by Green Belts or Black Belts. Lean six sigma belts analyze processes in production that are unnecessary and lead to waste. These are highlighted for action by Green or Black team leaders.
Six Sigma Green Belt.
The Green Belt is the third level of the Six Sigma series. A Green Belt has a good understanding of all the phases of Six Sigma Methodology of Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control(DMAIC). A green belt works under the supervision and guidance of Black Belts. They are trained to analyze and solve quality related issues and participate in quality improvement. A Green Belt works on the projects within a particular functional area and leads process improvement projects in their work area and assists Black Belts in finding process gaps.
Six Sigma Black
This is the fourth stage in the series. Black belt holders possess a thorough understanding of all aspects of the Six Sigma Methodology. By this stage, the Black Belt has solidified their knowledge of DMAIC. A Six Sigma Black Belt understands how to implement, perform, interpret and apply Lean Six Sigma at a high level of expertise. Black Belt holders usually hold positions of responsibility like project head. They manage complex projects full-time.
Six Sigma Black Belt Master
This is the last stage of the series. Master Black belt holders are usually consultant or mentor to the rest of the development team that might comprise of Black, Green, and Yellow Belt holders. When the project runs into a problem, it’s the job of the Master Black belt to provide solutions. They develop Six Sigma strategy for the organization to follow. It’s the responsibility of the Master Black belts to achieve the desired Six Sigma results. They are also expert in Cross-Functional Leadership.
Which Certificate to do?
The certificate to take depends on the profile and its requirements. Also, as one advances through the series, a certificate of the previous level becomes a prerequisite. It’s important to consider that Six Sigma Experts earn 40% more than their counterparts without certificates. 

Sponsor Ads

About ProICT Training Advanced   proicttraining

90 connections, 4 recommendations, 308 honor points.
Joined APSense since, November 9th, 2017, From Delhi, India.

Created on Apr 17th 2018 04:11. Viewed 495 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.