Indian Railways PNR Status – Helps You with All Information on Tickets

by Forum Fernandis I am Writer
The PNR number is a 10-digit number found on your ticket, and stands for the Passenger Name Record. When you book your railway ticket you have to provide a lot of details like the number of passengers, their names, age and gender, date of travel, address, source and destination stations, mobile number, etc. Based on all these details the PNR number is generated. The checking of Indian Railways PNR status is possible online on the website of IRCTC.

Until recently, booking of train tickets was possible 120 days prior to the date of departure of the train, but now, after the introduction of Railway Budget 2013, it has changed from four to two months. It is possible till the final charts are prepared, which is about 4 hours before the train leaves the station. Because of the huge rush of passengers, you may not always get seats available on your preferred train. In such cases, you are either put into RAC or Waiting List, where you will get your ticket confirmed only if any cancellations are made.
Under RAC, or Reservation against Cancellation, you will be provided a seat on which you can sit and travel. In order to enquire the current status of your reservation you need to quote the PNR number.

There are two tables shown when you check the PNR status online. The first table contains the train number and name, date of travel, source and destination stations, the class of travel, and so on. The second table shows the reservation status of all the passengers booked in the ticket. Both the status at the time of booking of the ticket and the current status are shown. Suppose it showsWL8/ RAC3, then the first number shows the status of your ticket at the time of booking and the second number shows the current status of your ticket. It means that your position have been upgraded from the Waiting List to RAC 3.

Once you get the PNR number, you have to quote the number in all your dealings with the railway, whether it is a train enquiry, checking of train timings, seat availability, or coach and seat number. You can book for a maximum of 6 passengers under the same PNR, provided they have the same source and destination stations. In case you are booking Tatkal tickets, a maximum of 4 passengers are booked under the same PNR.
The PNR number is a unique number, which never changes throughout your travel, no matter whatever changes are made on your ticket. For canceling your ticket also you need to quote the PNR number of your ticket.

It is possible to check the Indian Railways PNR status online till the preparation of the final charts, after which you can check the PNR status of your ticket only at the station.

You can use Indian Railway PNR status and get latest information like arrival time, and departure time of any train. Don't forget to do Indian Railway PNR check if you want to avoid any last moment rush during your next family trip.

About Forum Fernandis Freshman   I am Writer

0 connections, 0 recommendations, 38 honor points.
Joined APSense since, November 30th, 2012, From Mumbai, India.

Created on Dec 31st 1969 19:00. Viewed 0 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.