Rick Riordan Kane Chronicles Novel Will Be Developed as Netflix Movie

by Aida Martin Norton Setup

Rick Riordan, world-renowned for creating the character Percy Jackson, has struck a deal with Netflix, which would see his Egyptian Mythological young adult books be developed into feature films as Netflix products.

The author himself revealed the news to his well-wishers on social media and on his website. He wrote the announcement as "exciting news" on his social media handle and said that the development is ongoing, and fans can expect more revelations soon.

On his website, he revealed that he and Netflix were speaking to each other since October of last year, around the same time when he commenced negotiations with Disney Plus regarding the adaptation of Percy Jackson (the more famous one) novels.

Kane Chronicles is based on the author's Greek Mythological series and explores the new world and characters, which are inspired by Egyptian history and folklore. The three books in the novel franchise that have been published up until now explore teen characters Sadie and Carter Kane, who are born in a bloodline that can be traced to Egyptian pharaohs Narmer and Ramses the Great. The motif used in Kane Chronicles is the same as it was there in Percy Jackson novels, which sees Sadie Kane and Carter Kane run into mythological gods in a technologically sophisticated modern world. There is also a spinoff series of novels that sees worlds of the Percy Jackson series and Kane Chronicles series crossover.

The three novels in Kane Chronicles, which are titled "The Red Pyramid," "The Throne of Fire," and "The Serpent's Shadow," were published in chronological order in the successive years of 2010, 2011, and 2012.

Percy Jackson's first novel will be developed by Disney Plus into a live-action movie. "The Lightning Thief" is premature in the development stages of the adaptation.

Richard Russel Riordan Jr., commonly known by his pen name Rick Riordan is a prominent American author who got quantum leap in his career with the 2005 Percy Jackson novel "The Lightning Thief" which paved the way for the development of pentalogy titled Percy Jackson and the Olympians or simply as the Percy Jackson novels. The series is a fan favorite in the category of children books. For around 245 weeks, the books garnered great success with the series occupying number one position in the New York Times list of best children book series.

Two of his Percy Jackson novels have already been adapted into films. 20th Century Fox adapted the first film with the title Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief, which was released in 2010, and it's a sequel with the title Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters. Chris Columbus directed the films with an ensemble cast of Logan Lerman (in the titular role), Brendan T. Jackson, Alexandra Daddario (also known for True Detective Season 1, San Andreas), and Jake Abel.

The author is a recipient of multiple awards that include the Mark Twain Award, Shamus Award, Edgar Award, Stonewall Book Award, Milner Award, Children Choice Book Awards, Indian Paintbrush Award, etc.

Aida Martin has diverse interests that range from writing to video games. She has always had a strong passion for writing. She likes to write about games, tech events, security, and whitepapers. Her vast and varied knowledge aided by her supreme writing skills, have made her a powerful writer at


Sponsor Ads

About Aida Martin Senior   Norton Setup

171 connections, 2 recommendations, 576 honor points.
Joined APSense since, May 22nd, 2018, From Houston, United States.

Created on Sep 18th 2020 02:07. Viewed 48 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.