Planets-Exaltation and Debilitation

by Vinay Bajrangi World Renowned Astrologer
Planets the houses they own, exaltation and debilitation position and calculation of Dasha periods.

If a planet is posted in his sign, he said to be in his own house. If he is in the sign of exaltation, he is considered to be in a state of debilitation. In between a planet's own house and exaltation position, there is another point of astrological importance for any planet. This position is attained when he is in his Moolatrikona sign.

The various planets and their respective position ownership, strength and weakness are tabulated in table 1.

Mercury is well placed in Libra and Aquarius, Venus is reasonably effective in cancer, a watery sign, the sun in Sagittarius, a fiery sign, Mars in Leo and Sagittarius are also comparative more effective, but the Moon is detrimental in Pisces as the dignities of the planet, and the sign is at considerable variance. 

The seventh sign from the house of exaltation is the debilitation means weakness. Planets in retrograde motion are always strong, but planets in exaltation when retrograde, give inauspicious or inadequate results. Planets in debilitation are strong. They give corresponding results.


When a sign is divided into nine parts, each part is called a navamsa. Each navamsa is a pada or one - forth constellation. Each sign has a 2-1/4 constellation. Each constellation has four parts. The navamsa for Aries will be from Aries to Sagittarius and for Taurus will be from Capricorn to Virgo, and so on.

If a planet is in the same Rashi and navamsa, it is called Vargottama, meaning it has gained additional strength, to show good or inauspicious. Portents. Here it should not be mistaken as good only. It may be good or otherwise according to the planet's placements being good or otherwise from the ascendant etc.

Lords of Navamsas

For Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius
Mars                         6. Mercury 
Venus                       7. Venus 
Mercury                    8. Mars 
Moon                       9. Jupiter.

For Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn  
Saturn                    6. Mercury
Saturn                    7. Moon 
Jupiter                    8. Sun 
Mars                       9. Mercury 

For Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius
Moon                            6.Jupiter
Sun                              7. Saturn 
Mercury                        8. Venus 
Venus                           9. Mercury 

For cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces
1. Moon                                   5. Mars
2. Sun                                      6. Jupiter 
3. Mercury                                7. Saturn 
4. Venus  


1st Navamsa in Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn
5th Navamsa in Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Capricorn
9th Navamsa in Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

There are 27 stars = yoga - Taras. (Abhijit is between Uttarashada&Shravana.)
Planets - exaltation and debilitation 

Aswani, Makha, and Moola start with Ketu's Major period, running for seven years.

Bharani, Poorvaphalguni, and Poorvashadha start with the Sun's major period for six years.

Rohini hasta and Shravana start with the moon's Major period for ten years.

Margashira, Chitra &Dhanishta start with mar's Major period for seven years.

Ardra, swat, and Satabhisha start with Rahu's Major period for 19 years.

Punarvasu, Vikshakha, and Poorvabharapada start with Jupiter's Major period for 18 years 

Pushyami, Anuradha, and Uttarabhadrapada begin with Saturn's major period for 19 years.

Aslesha, Jyeshtha, and Revati start with Mercury's Major period for 17 years.

Sponsor Ads

About Vinay Bajrangi Freshman   World Renowned Astrologer

3 connections, 0 recommendations, 29 honor points.
Joined APSense since, June 21st, 2016, From Noida, India.

Created on Sep 18th 2018 08:07. Viewed 233 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.