Snapchat is becoming more and more popular day by day, and currently, over 210 million people own an account on it. Snapchat is meant for sharing here and gone images and shots. People can post any image and video anytime in the day, and Regularly posting content can help your followers to get a glimpse of your daily life, and this will help you to create engagement with your fans and followers.
However, these days the cybercrime is on the peak, and each day, many social media account are captured by internet attackers. Several cyber attackers are stealing data from the Snapchat users account. If you are noticing some suspicious activities in your Snapchat account, then you should immediately take a serious step. You should check if someone else is using your Snapchat account, but it is not easy work at all. In this article, we are going to tell you how to tell if someone has access to your Snapchat account.
How Do You Know If Someone is Using Your Snapchat Account?
There are three primary ways to know if your Snapchat account is captured by a cyber attacker or not. Here are the methods to know if your account is accessed by more than one user:
- Suspicious Activities
- Automatically logged out from Snapchat for no reason.
- Excess emails about Snapchat account login or log out activities.
Keep in mind you will only see the above things if the cyber attacker is using your account regularly. But if they access your account only for once only to steal the details of your account, then you might not be able to track these suspicious activities. Instead of Snapchat log in or log out emails, you will get frequent bank messages that your account is debited by that much amount. However, most people don’t enter their bank details due to security reasons, so even if someone gets access to their account, their bank details will be kept safe.
1. Suspicions Activities
If you have seen some snaps that do not belongs to you posted on your account, then it means the person who is accessing your account is posting those things. If you see that you recently followed someone, but you did not even remember when you did so, then it could be the cyber attacker who is using your account.
2. Automatically Logged Out
Have you noticed that from a few days, whenever you try to use Snapchat, you have to enter your account ID and password? If that’s the case, then it means someone else is using your account because if you have noticed automatic logged out several times, then it is a sharp indication of someone else is accessing your Snapchat.
3. Unusual Snapchat Notification Emails
If there were any changes made in your Snapchat account recently, then you may receive emails regarding those activities. For instance, if your Snapchat account ID or password is changed, then you will receive a notification email from the Snapchat team. If a person logged in to your account from a location far away from you, then you will receive an alert email from the Snapchat.
What to do When Someone Else is Using Your Snapchat Account?
If your account is currently being accessed by someone else, then you might need to take some steps in order to make your account safe. First of all, if possible, then change the password of your Snapchat account. If the cyber attacker has already changed the account password, then you may need to access the Forgot Password feature in Snapchat to recover your account password. Once you are able to log into your account, make sure to change the password immediately.
Sherry Martin is a Microsoft Office expert and has been working in the technical industry since 2002. As a technical expert, she has written technical blogs, manuals, white papers, and reviews for many websites such as office.com/setup.
Created on Dec 13th 2019 11:02. Viewed 166 times.