Australia 491 Visa - A Streamlined Visa to Make Contributions to Regional Areas of Australia

by Amelia Brynlie Blogger, SEO Executive

Australia 491 visa, earlier known as 489 has been a major replacement that has been done by the DHA (Department of Home Affairs) on November 19, 2019. A 491 visa is a new skilled visa. It is for the skilled workers who want to work and reside in the designated regional areas of Australia for a period of 5 years. Unlike the 489 visa, the new visa 491 allows you to bring your families along with you! 

You all might be aware that skilled workers play an important role in the growth and development of the Australian economy. On the other hand, visa 491 is a powerful sword for the Australian employers to fill the gaps and vacancies that exist in their organizations that Australians are not unable to fulfill. 

It is true that with a 491 visa, one cannot live in the metropolitan cities such as Sydney and is only allowed to live and work in the designated regional areas of Australia such as North Australia, South Australia, Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania and many more. Now, New Castle, Wollongong and Gold Coast also come under the heading of “designated regional areas of Australia.”

How can One Apply for Australia 491 Visa?

Like the 489 Visa, a 491 visa is also a point-based visa under which there are two streams for applicants, who must have: 

  • A nomination from any Australian state or government agency 
  • A sponsorship from any eligible family member living in Australia either as permanent resident or Australian citizens and then secure an invitation to apply for the visa post submitting the expression of Interest (EOI)

What is the Eligibility Criteria to Apply for a 491 Visa?

An applicant who is interested in making contributions towards the designated regional areas of Australia can apply for the 491 visa. But, in order to apply, there are certain eligibility requirements that a candidate is required to meet such as:

  • Have a relevant occupation listed in the occupation list of Australia and must have a worthy assessment for the same 
  • Must be under the age of 45 years 
  • Must have a minimum of 3 years of work experience in the selected occupation 
  • Should have minimum points in the skilled assessment test 
  • Exhibit a competent level in English language 
  • Indicate good health and good character 

Applicants who have sailed easily till now by meeting the above-mentioned requirements can submit their expression of interest (EOI) through online skill select. Applicants who meet the requirements may get an invitation from the DHA to apply for the provisional visa. 

Are you aware that this visa gets processed on priority? Where there are multiple applicants with the same point score, in this case, invitations are sent on the basis of priority ranking. The priority processing is the main reason why a 491 visa always wins the game! 

How 491 Visa leads to Permanent Residency?

491 visa holders will be eligible to apply for Australia’s permanent residency after living in the designated Australian state for a period of 3 years. Also, there are certain eligibility requirements such as income requirements which you need to meet if you want to become Australia’s permanent residents. The candidate also needs to prove their residence in the regional area of Australia for a period of 3 years. So, if you wish to make designated areas of Australia your new home, you can apply for the 491 visa as it also paves the way for you by walking on which you can easily become permanent resident of Australia.  

Sponsor Ads

About Amelia Brynlie Advanced   Blogger, SEO Executive

81 connections, 0 recommendations, 250 honor points.
Joined APSense since, July 6th, 2017, From New York, United States.

Created on Jan 28th 2021 06:06. Viewed 307 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.