Different stages a Master Mason goes through before receiving the Past Master jewel

by Collection Masonic Manufacturer

A member in Freemasonry is entitled to become a Master Mason after he has been exalted as a Mason for a period of four months in standing in a Lodge. A Master Mason is a brother who has been initiated, passed and raised in any legal Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons.

In earlier days, a Master Mason was a workman who was trained and experienced and was qualified to teach his trade to the younger workers. He was referred to as “a scholar of authority”. The presiding officer of the Lodge is given the title of the Worshipful Master. A Past Master is a Worshipful Master who has completed his tenure and is no longer the presiding officer of the Lodge. When he passes his chair to the current presiding officer of the Lodge, he is known as the Past or Passed Master. 

Before a Past Master is awarded with his Masonic Past Master Jewel, he has to follow the same long journey which all the other brethren have to go through. Freemasonry is all about gaining more knowledge and wisdom at every step. This is the reason every Masonic collar jewel is attained through hard work and diligence. Before reaching this stage, a Mason has worn a number of jewels as each officer level is awarded with a different Masonic collar jewel.

Various different types Masonic officer’s jewels include:

Stewards’ jewel

Both the Junior and Senior Steward wears the jewel that has the symbol of cornucopia, the horn of plenty. This jewel signifies abundance of food.

Junior Deacon’s jewel

This jewel is in the shape of the square and compass with a moon in the center. This symbolizes that the Junior Deacon is positioned in the west and is responsible for guarding the door to the Lodge.

Senior Deacon’s jewel

It is also in the shape of the square and the compass but has sun in the center. The Senior Deacon acts as the messenger of the Worshipful Master.

Junior Warden’s jewel

This jewel has the symbol of plumb, a Stonemason’s tool used for checking the vertical surface’s alignment. Junior Warden is in the charge of arranging food for the Lodge.

Senior Warden’s jewel

This jewel has the symbol of level, a Stonemason’s tool used for checking the horizontal surface’s alignment. This symbolizes how Masons should meet at a level in terms of political, social and religious status.  

Worshipful Master’s jewel

This jewel is a right angle of the square and signifies virtue. The Worshipful Master is the presiding officer of the Lodge and his word remains final for all the decisions that Lodge makes.

After this stage, the Worshipful Master is awarded the past Master jewel which is an inverted and extended version of the Worshipful Master’s jewel.  

Looking to buy Masonic regalia? You can buy all types of high quality regalia at cost effective price tags from a leading online retailer like The Masonic Collection. They guarantee smooth transactions all the time and ensure 100% quality satisfaction.

Sponsor Ads

About Collection Masonic Advanced   Manufacturer

88 connections, 0 recommendations, 226 honor points.
Joined APSense since, April 17th, 2018, From Coventry, United Kingdom.

Created on Nov 14th 2019 05:16. Viewed 467 times.


No comment, be the first to comment.
Please sign in before you comment.